new at coyote hunting

jeepguy

I am just getting started coyote hinting in oregon. I am look for info on what works in northwestern oregon and good places to hunt. I have been helping a friend get rid of some coyotes that raid his farm and want to start activly hunting them. Any info would help thanks!

Welcome to what is sure to become a lifelong passion. There are lots of good calls out there, I like the randy Anderson calls by Primos, but the E.L.K calls are good also. Everyone uses distress calls and they do work, but if you want to up your odds learn to howl. Camoflauge is important, all those gee wiz patterns will work, just insure you wear a face mask and GLOVES. When you move your hands to shoot is when they spot you. Scent control is also important, but if they get down wind your screwed. Plan your setup, cause no matter where a yote comes from he will try to get down wind of you. This is where a MOJO decoy comes in handy. If the decoy is out there where they can see it hopefully when they cut down wind, they only go down wind of the decoy and not you. Until your hooked just use whatever rifle your best with. You can get a wiz bang laser gun that you don't really need later. We all think of the long shot, but chance are you won't see it until it's right in front of you. Something fast handleing is prefered, I'm really taking a shine to hunting with the AR-15. Shooting stix are also really handy, stoney point collapsible ones are great, but you can also just make a pair. I've never hunted Oregon, mostly the mid west, but these were a few lessons I've picked up.

Other than location and the above mentioned calls.My only advise is to go often and try to learn something everytime you go out!

But an oldtimer once told me........The skill aint in callin em.The skill is in shooting em!

Movement will blow your cover more than anything.
Be absolutely as still as possible.
Bark with your voice and they will stop, be ready to shoot when they do.