Moly-Coated bullets.... The good & the bad

birdhunter88

I am new to this sport and have a general knowledge of rifles and ammo. My questions deal with moly coated bullets. Whats the good and the bad with using moly ?

Some articles and forums that I have read stated that they help cut down on barrel wear and increase accuracy. But at the same time I have read that it also may screw up the inside of your barrel. Am I getting conflicting info or have I just confused myself ?

I have a Tikka T3 Stainless Lite .243 with a Bushnell Legend 5-15x40 scope and have been shooting factory Federal Ammo through it to break it in and have no intentions at this time to get into reloading. The main use that this rifle will see is for coyote hunting. Most shots will most likey be taken at 200 yards or less. But I also want the capabilities to take even longer shots across open corn and bean fields when and if the opportunity exist.

If I start using a moly coated rounds do I still clean the barrel like I have been doing with the other rounds that I have been using or should I do something different.

I hope my questions don't sound to stupid or elementary but I am real curious if I should treat my rifle any different depending on the rounds. I really like my Tikka and don't want to screw it up.

Thanks in advance for any advice or info you could give me.

bird

I'm afraid you'll get the same answer here.
Some people love 'em and some hate 'em.
There is no black and white answer on what to do with moly.
The best answer I feel is give 'em a try and if they work for you in your system, great. If your are currently shooting naked bullets and getting along fine, then don't bother with moly unless you want to experiment.