memorial day weekend shoot

larlevine

i am a newbie :D on this sight so I hope this post is in line with what you are seeking for member contributions. i thought i'd share my experience over the recent holiday weekend. i was fortunate to have the opportunity to attend an organized shoot at a location in south central georgia. the shoot was on a 2,200 yard range set up for known and unknown distance shooting. targets were steel plates 20" wide and 40" high. this is the first time i have shot successfully beyond 1,300 yards. i recently purchased a trg 42 in 300 win mag and hoped to be able to ring steel at that distance or beyond. i recently went this route as i wanted to try replicate results i had a few years ago with a trg 42 in 338 lapua magnum but at less expense for ammo, components etc.. Fortunately, one of the guys had a vectronix terrapin laser range finder so I could verify distances. With the heat at 99 degrees and the heavy mirage, reticle range finding was too tough for me to get any kind of useful data [for me anyway, not great at that skill!]. i had previously worked up what seemed like a good load, 208 amax, 75 grains h1000, norma brass, fed magnum primers, coal about 2.82", resulting in roughly 2745 feet per second per my run of the mill chronograph.