Labradar performance improvement tip

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by Dr. Vette, Sep 5, 2018.

  1. Dr. Vette

    Dr. Vette Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Recently I had to send my Labradar in to the company to have the wire for the screen reattached. Still worked with the phone app, but no display was showing.

    I received it back right away, and they enclosed a nice note. One of the comments was that with the SD card I was using the unit took a long time to start and a long time to write to memory. Their technician suggested I upgrade and get a larger card for better performance.

    I bought a new SanDisk Ultra 16GB card:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M55BMKK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Today was the first day to use it and I have to say WOW it works so much better. I used to have to wait 3-5 seconds for it to display a speed, and it used to be really picky about where the muzzle was in relation to the unit. I had instant readings today, and no missed readings, which is a first.

    So, if your unit is not working as well as you'd like, consider a faster/larger SD card as an option.
     
    kiwikid likes this.
  2. Trm82

    Trm82 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Mine works great but could not get phone app to work.
     
  3. Dr. Vette

    Dr. Vette Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    My phone app also works better, likely because the unit itself is working better.
     
  4. sedancowboy

    sedancowboy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    120
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    I had the same problem and it turns out that you have to have the "location on"
    On your phone for it to work. This is for android only I have no idea about a I-Phone.
     
  5. lancetkenyon

    lancetkenyon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,022
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    I don't even have an SD card in mine. Works fine and quick. As long as the batteries are good. Mine seems to EAT AA batteries. Like one range trip (about 4-5 hours).
     
  6. kiwikid

    kiwikid Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    235
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Lancetkenyon if you already haven't I would suggest you buy a rechargeable USB battery pack. Len at LRH has a 10000 mAh unit for $25 which will let you use your LabRadar all day plus will charge your phone at the same time. You don't get many AA batteries for $25 these days.
     
    jb1023 and lancetkenyon like this.