Just getting started

Al8095

Hey guys, Im new here but Ive been reading a bunch of your posts and I appreciate everything, learned a lot. Ive been shooting a 7mm ultra mag for about 6 months at 500 yds. Ive been reading a lot on reloading lately and I am thinking a good press for me would be the RCBS Ultra mag. For everything else I am getting confused. It would be great to have some suggestions for the other tools. I'm thinking the RCBS case master for sure but the dies, neck turners and everything else im not sure. What else would I be smart to start with? Thanks

Al,

Welcome aboard!

A SHORT list of tools are of course, press and shell holders, priming tool, dies ect... Some things needed for the best accuracy are , a good set of calipers, primer flash hole deburrer and primer pocket uniformer. Neck turining tools, and perhaps a concentricity guage and a comparator.

Someone else can fill in the rest.
smile.gif

Buy a book on reloading first. Read it and than buy just the basics and learn how to reload. Once you get the basics down than start buying the extras as you feel they are needed. If you get to much stuff right from the start the process will get confusing and the chance of making a BAD mistake will increase. Don't want to do that. Buying something like a neck turner right of the hop will only cause you problems.

I agree with Harve. I would get a basic RCBS starter kit a good set of calipers and start makeing some bullets. As you go you'll figure out what you need,want ; case trimmer,neck turning tool ,concentricity gauge ect. ect. pretty soon you,ll have a whole room full of stuff too.

Meichele you said it best. If you are going to be loading ammo for extreme range you will be needing the tools Meichele was kind enough to mention. They aren't that hard to use and since you are in a learning mode it is best to start out right.You will not be satisfied with making inferior ammo,good quality ammo is the desire of most reloaders