Just for fun....Ultimate LRH Build!!

FullCurlHunter

Whats up guys, I am relatively new to the longrangehunting members but have been learning quite a bit....

I thought this would be an interesting topic and I would like to see all of your guys' feedback!

What would your ultimate long range hunting rig for big game be if you had $5000 to put towards it?

From what I have read as well as what I have picked up over the years, i decided my dream LRH rifle is as follows! Let me know what you guys think, this may be a possible build in the near future!!

Action, Barrel and Muzzle brake by Shawn at DefensiveEdge.net:

-Remington 700 stainless Steel action - squared and trued
-27.5" Hart Barrel (SSor Chro-moly??) contour #6 or 7 chambered in .338 Edge
-Defensive Edge Muzzle Brake - matching the barrel contour
-Either a brown precision thumbhole stock or McMillan ADJ-HTG stock.
-Nightforce optics 3.5-15X50mm NXS with MP-1RR, NP-R2 or NP-1 reicle???
-And I am not sure which rings and bases would best fit this setup...
-I wouls shoot 300 gr. SMK's to take advantage of the 338 edge's ballistics as well as the high BC of the bullet for long range accuracy. For hunting I would think about switching to an 225 gr. accubond or a 250 gr. sierra game king.

Do guys' use ballistic software out in the field on a palm pilot or is that a myth?

Thanks guys, hope to hear some feed back as well as some of your LRG builds!

Hi FCHunter, good to have you here /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif .

If your thinking about an "Ultimate" LR gun i'd look close at the 338 snipe tac and .408 chey tac. I've heard the .408 keeps up to or exceeds the .50BMG out to 2500y with the 419gr(?) lost river match bullet.
.338 snipe tac is just a necked down .408CT and from what i have read it will push a 300gr Matchking at 3400fps, punch them figgers into a ballistics program and you should get a read out like this.....