how good and how often do you clean ur gun?

bigsal5353

im sure this has been asked but my computer sucks and closes the window when i do a search.
ive been shootin about 30 rounds per week, due to all the ground hogs running around and im also new to reloading so im doin alot of experimenting. how often do you guys clean ur rifle???
is it every 20 shots? every 50? every 100?
and how good do u clean it? do u run a brush thru it a few times and a few patch... or do u really take your time? thanks

randy,

the gun is a savage 22-250 no custom work done.

i do shoot moly coated bullets at times.. but my gun seems to shoot better with them. dont know if that makes sense or not, but it seems like my groups are tigher when i dont shoot them. im shooting 40 and 55 grains right now.. dont have a chrony but im guessin by 40 are over 4000fps maybe pushin 4100 and the 55grs are somewhere around 3600 or 3700 fps, thanks for the help

Big Sal
Especially with the advent of the new foaming bore cleaners....

It is now easy for me to clean after I am done shooting...I just foam the bore wait awhile and patch the bore. If I am shoot much over twenty rounds I foam the bore again and patch a couple times then patch with Kroil and I am done.....

Hopefully you have a one piece quality cleaning rod and good brass jag.

You can make a rod guide that fits your chamber by drilling out the primer pocket of a fired case, to the size of your cleaning rod. Slide it on the rod and start the case into the chamber as you start the patch into the bore....don't push the case in fully with fingers or you will trap the edge of the patch with the mouth of the case as you start the patch...just get the patch started then push the case in behind it.

This will go along way to minimize damaging your rifles throat with the cleaning rod.

Paul