Help, concentricity problems.

AJ Peacock

All,

I've been reloading (clean, deprime, prime, powder seat) for 30 years. All my rifles will shoot sub-MOA.

My problem is that until recently, I just worked up a load, reloaded (sorted brass by weight), weighed each charge and called it good.

Since I ordered a 338AM from Kirby, I decided I needed to be able to measure things like bearing surface length on my bullets (so I got some stoney points gauges), Concentricity (so I bought a Sinclair gauge) etc.

Well, I grabbed my box of Norma 7RM brass (mostly once fired, some still virgin, some loaded) and started checking the concentricity.

WHOA!! measured just in front of the neck, the loaded rounds run from .0015 - .008 runout. The once fired measured on the neck runout .002-005" and the new virgin cases run .002-.004" runout.

I immediately measured some of my .243 winchester rounds same type of resolts, then the 7mm-08 same thing, then some factory Remington 7RM, it measured .002-.006" runout

On the .243, I use Pacific neck size dies, on the 7RM I use Forster Neck die, on the 7mm-08 I use RCBS full length.

I polished the expander button on the 7RM Forster neck die, and resized some of the brass; no real change before-after on case neck runout sometimes .001 better sometime .001 worse.

I'm not setup to measure neck thickness.

Since its pretty much the same on 3 different calibers and the factory ammo, do I have a problem? The runout numbers above are extreme spread on the dial indicator. I read that .002" was an allowable limit for runout with bench guns etc. These are all factory chambers with nothing done to the brass but trim/chamfer flash hole debur.

I'm using the same Rock Chucker single stage press I've been using for 30 years.

I now understand the saying "ignorance is bliss".

Any ideas are appreciated.

Thanks,
Don

Don,

Be careful and don't fall into the category of a "tinkerer" as Kirby calls people like me.