Hello from downunder

sako5

Gudday

Ive been browsing this site from here in new zealand for a while.Ive been hunting for a while with limited sucess .That is until i started to get into some longer range hunting.I shoot a sako 300wsm with a leupold vx111 4.5x14 on it.I use 150gn nosler ballistic tips.Im very new at long range stuff but im enjoying getting results.My longest kill so far has been 568yds and i hope to get a 7mm 404 in the new year and push myself further.
PA180127.jpg

The hunting here has been great coming into summer now.Ive accounted for 15 deer over the last two months(sika and red)
PC070093.jpg

PC060030.jpg

PC100117.jpg

On a recent trip we were watching this sika hind and her yearling feeding 600yds away.
My mate took this pic using an olympus camera through a leupold scope!
pc060020.jpg

PC070107.jpg

Anyway i hope to learn more here and look forward to hearing from a few of you blokes.Cheers

Very cool and welcome to the site. How about some information about the rifles/scopes in the bottom photo? Also how many deer can you shoot a year there? Are you taking these on public land or are you having to pay to play?

Nice pics and welcome to LRH.

I do have to ask one ? though. Is it common to hunt in shorts over there??? Not poking fun, just curious.

Sako5,
Welcome aboard. You'll enjoy it. A lot of good people here. Glad to have you in the group.

Nice pics and results.

[ QUOTE ]
I do have to ask one ? though. Is it common to hunt in shorts over there??? Not poking fun, just curious.

[/ QUOTE ]

Sure its common but you gotta be tough. Check the pic w/Sako and his mate. Check out his right calf. Those are snake bites! His hunting buddy is wearing snake bite boots. Ya just don't mess with the boys down under! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

[ QUOTE ]