Glass bed or Pillar ???

openlake

I am going to have a rifle built in the near future and I am undecided about bedding. I have bought a McMillan custom drop in stock for my Winchester model 70 action. I realize no stock can truly be prefit to be a true perfect drop in for all the minor variations in actions, so I plan on bedding the action in some fashion.

Is there an advantage of pillar over glass bedding? Does anyone do both?
confused.gif

[ 07-09-2002: Message edited by: ShootMAgin ]

Yes, most people do both. I am a student at the Colorado School of Trades for gunsmithing and about 99% of the rifles built/worked on here get both.
Here's how I understand it- from past experience and from the school:
Pillar bedding basically allows you to torque your action screws to a determined load and they make sure it stays consistent. Wood, laminates and most synthetic stocks will crush under too much torque. They also expand and shrink due tohumidity changes and temperature changes. The McMillan is the only synthetic that I know of that the action screws will break before the stock shows any "crush." What the proper torque is for best accuracy with pillars is a start for another discussion. But the point is the pillars allow you to maintain a consistent torque on your action screws.
Glass bedding, using Marine Tex (probably the best), Devcon or an Acraglass product (gel or regular) makes up for the "imperfections" of the stock makers inletting. They have to inlet to fit all actions which can have a wide range of tolerances. Glass bedding gives you a perfect 1 to 1 fit for YOUR action into YOUR stock. This accomplishes a couple of things- it helps to stiffen the receiver and the joint between the receiver and the barrel (most people also bed the first inch or two of the barrel) and second it allows the action to "settle" back into the exact same spot after each shot. In wood stocks it strengthens the wood and helps to seal it against the elements.