Dented shoulders

7MMMagnum

I have been reloading for over 45 years and recently ran into a problem resizing cases. Using Redding Premium resizing dies and Hornady Unique lube on Hornady 6.5 PRC cases. I use the precision Redding shell holder set and maintain bumping the shoulder .001-.002. On every 3rd or 4th case I notice a small dent in the shoulder, some worse than others. I load many different calibers and in my reloading career have dented a case or two but has always been an over lubrication issue. I have tried just as little lube as possible and cleaning the die multiple times and gone through all the remedies posted on Reddings site. Does anyone else have this issue with 6.5 PRC cases and resizing?

Redding doesnt use a vent hole in their dies like rcbs and trapped air can cause it. Had this on 250ai once.
could it also be lube working its way down the neck to the shoulder and causing lube dents?
since changing to royal case lube i haven't had a shoulder lube dent. It works well for me

Redding site says a vent hole is not necessary on their dies. I know I have never had an issue with RCBS dies (they all have a vent hole) and so don't know if the vent hole matters or not, but results so far may indicate otherwise. I have both RCBS case lube/pad and some Imperial Die Wax. I will try both on my next run and see if it makes a difference. I have also noticed the cases do not run up smoothly into the Redding die. Seems awful rough inside. Does anyone know if they polish the inner surfaces as other die makers do?

Clean your die out with brake cleaner and a wire brush and patches. Put only very light coat of lube on the case. Try again.

You can always use a carbide drill bit and if you have a drill press drill a vent hole in the die if you want. But if you use light coating and clean the die ever so often it should be fine.

Whatever you do not trash those dented cases. Load them and shoot'm the dent will blow right out and be fine.