dents in the shoulder

dino foss

This is happening to me more often than not. Im a beginner still, is this a sign of to much lube?
S1500002.jpg

S1500003.jpg

I have another question about pressure signs to the primer. Can anyone see pressure signs here? The first pic is a factory load and the second is a self load.
S1500009.jpg

S1500007.jpg

yes you are using excessive lube and the hand load doesnt look to have any pressure signs based on the primer
are you chamfering/deburring your case mouths?

in order

yes, you are likely using too much lube. You should probably run a few Q-tips up in there to get the potentially accumulating lube out of the die.

Primers - they do not look flattened at all, no real visible smear on the case, no visible ejector marks on the case, so I would say no pressure issues visible from those factors. Cratering, by itself, is not necessarily an indication of over-pressure. Hard bolt lift, brass smear, ejector marks, in combination with cratering... is getting you much further down the road to over pressure.

I would suggest you consider having the bolt bushed by some one like Greg Tannel, or someone else qualified. I have two rifles that have shown cratered primers from day one regarless of loan. I will be sending them to Greg who returns them very quickly for customers (within 2-3 weeks) according to folks that I shoot with who have used him recently for this very service.

Jeffvn

just curios. what do you mean by getting the bolt bushed

I'll take a shot at this, & Jeff, if you had something different in mind feel free to correct me.