Burris Eliminator 111

Kentucky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
101
Having one heck of a time with scope AND Burris techs. If anyone has an Eliminator 111 and like it, I sure could use some help here. Thanks
 
Last edited:

Kentucky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
101
What's the problem? I have a couple
I can give you all of the numbers I used if you need it, but I have a drop number of 154. Zeroed scope at 100 yrds , touching holes. Per instructions, I put a target at 400 and hit about three feet low. I entered 230 as a drop number( that is the highest number MY scope would allow) and still hit aprox 14 in low. I looked at a ballistic table for my 6.5 and amd I would have to have a 4000 fps to match the red dot in scope.
I was using the red dot as my aiming point. I pit an 11 in plastic jug out at 400. I then held cross hairs on jug and looked at the red dot. It was 12” under cross hairs. SO, the scope was giving me an 11 in drop at 400. I hope I explained it .well enough for you.
 

West Calamus

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
339
Location
texas
I can give you all of the numbers I used if you need it, but I have a drop number of 154. Zeroed scope at 100 yrds , touching holes. Per instructions, I put a target at 400 and hit about three feet low. I entered 230 as a drop number( that is the highest number MY scope would allow) and still hit aprox 14 in low. I looked at a ballistic table for my 6.5 and amd I would have to have a 4000 fps to match the red dot in scope.
I was using the red dot as my aiming point. I pit an 11 in plastic jug out at 400. I then held cross hairs on jug and looked at the red dot. It was 12” under cross hairs. SO, the scope was giving me an 11 in drop at 400. I hope I explained it .well enough for you.
Did you double check your Zero distance? It should be "1" and not 0
 

West Calamus

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
339
Location
texas
I can give you all of the numbers I used if you need it, but I have a drop number of 154. Zeroed scope at 100 yrds , touching holes. Per instructions, I put a target at 400 and hit about three feet low. I entered 230 as a drop number( that is the highest number MY scope would allow) and still hit aprox 14 in low. I looked at a ballistic table for my 6.5 and amd I would have to have a 4000 fps to match the red dot in scope.
I was using the red dot as my aiming point. I pit an 11 in plastic jug out at 400. I then held cross hairs on jug and looked at the red dot. It was 12” under cross hairs. SO, the scope was giving me an 11 in drop at 400. I hope I explained it .well enough for you.
now you got me to thinking and I know it is hard to translate what you are seeing on your end. If you are zeroed at 100 yards but the poi is 3 feet low and lets say the ballistics on your load at 400yds shows a 24 to 28 inch drop aiming from the crosshairs but the lighted dot is beneath the cross hairs. Hummm. What is your scope mounts? standard rail or weaver style? Was the scope showing 400 yards to the target? Post a follow up if you figure out what is going on.
 

Kentucky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
101
Yes. BC is .625 and I entered .62 in scope. I can’t imagine being off enough in programing the scope that it would show an 11 in hold over at 400 yards. Just out of pure frustration I played with ballistic table, entering different BC’s, velocities, altitudes etc, trying to find a 11 in hold over at that yardage. 4000 FPS will do the trick. I sent the scope to Burris. They did all of the “ bench “ tests on it and sent it back to me saying it tested ok. I boxed it up and sent it back. The reviews on this scope are around 25%of people saying that they are junk. Wish I would have read that before I spent $1100 on one.
 

Kentucky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
101
now you got me to thinking and I know it is hard to translate what you are seeing on your end. If you are zeroed at 100 yards but the poi is 3 feet low and lets say the ballistics on your load at 400yds shows a 24 to 28 inch drop aiming from the crosshairs but the lighted dot is beneath the cross hairs. Hummm. What is your scope mounts? standard rail or weaver style? Was the scope showing 400 yards to the target? Post a follow up if you figure out what is going on.
The bullet is hitting about where it should, but the dot is showing 11”below crosshairs.
 

Hatrick

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2016
Messages
805
Location
Cape May NJ/ Stuart, Fl
After ranging the red dot is your aiming point, not the cross hairs. I have one on a 300rum and it is pretty good to 1000.
The 11” low sounds pretty good. Might want to look at a mechanical problem or an numerical entry mistake. 2 ft low from the dot at 400 is a lot.
 
Last edited:

Kentucky

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
101
After ranging the red dot is your aiming point, not the cross hairs. I have one on a 300rum and it is pretty good to 1000.
The 11” low sounds pretty good. Might want to look at a mechanical problem or an numerical entry mistake. 2 ft low from the dot at 400 is a lot.
I’m just having a hard time explaining this I guess. Tha dot shows 11” below crosshairs at 400. The range shows 404 which I don’t have a problem with. Ballistic tables tell me I should be 39 in low at 400 and that is ABOUT where I’m hitting. I can boost drop number up to 230 and I’m still low by a couple of feet.
BC is 62
Velocity is 2672, three **** average
509 ft elevation
 

CBS

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
685
I think you're misreading your tables. I'm pretty sure you shouldn't be 39" low at 400. if you're actually hitting 3 ft low at 400 with a 100 yd zero there's something wrong.

I'll send you my phone # via pm.
 

snox801

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,723
Location
Spring Lake Michigan
I too agree you have something going on that not the scope. I have two of these on my fathers rifles and both are great. 25 percent of the people that didn’t like them probably didn’t know how to set them up. I’m sure some are bad but it it tested well it’s more likely a mechanical issue or you just have one value not right.
 
Top