Bullet stabilization...

TireurDelite

Hello all,

It has always been my understanding that the bullet is stabilized or close to it when it leaves the barrel.
This old boy at the gunshop I used to shop told me the reason I am getting good group(for me) at 100 yards and not at 200 is that the bullet has not stabilized. This doesn't make sense. Is he full of it or am I just ignorant?
Help please!!!
Thanks for your time.

TD
I'm by no means an expert here, but I beleive I have read about the longer heavier bullets(VLD ULD type) taking a couple of hundred yards to "settle down" so you could have so-so groups at 100yds and at 300 yds things tighten up.

I don't know for sure about the other way around unless your bullet was just barely stabilized at 100, but even then I wouldn't think it would slow enough in another 100yds to make a difference.

What bullet? Which caliber? What twist?

Chris

No to sound like a smart *** but your generaly gonna get better groups at 100yds than 200yds because 200yds is 100yds farther away , unless you just had your numbers backwards.
Like the man said some guns shooting realy long bullets take a couple hundred yards to flatten out or some guys say "go to sleep" I had buddy that shot a 1-12 twist 30-06 with 175gr Berger VLD's and it would groupe better at 200yds than at 100yds and in dead calm wind would group the same at 300 as it did at 200 , a fellow long range shooter said that the twist was on the line of being two slow for those bullets at it just took a little longer for the air to straiten out the bullet.
I have two 308's that group right at 1/2moa at 100yds and under 3/4moa at 200yds which basicaly is grouping better at the 200yd mark than 100 not sure why but they both do it with all weight bullets

I have heard the term "go to sleep" used a lot in this shooting area.
While I wasn't sure what exactly it meant I did witness it and now understand what it means.
My big gun shoots 3/4 groups (10 round groups) at 100 yards.