Bullet seating depth and load suggestions for Tipped TSX?

GlennRMK

Shooting a Remington 700 CDL Stainless Fluted in .300 WSM.

Have tried the following bullets:

200 Gameking
200 Accubond
180 SST
180 Interbond
180 Accubond
180 Scirrocco
180 Gameking
165 Accubond
165 SST
165 Interbond

So far the 180 SST shoots the best. Followed by the 165 Accubond and 180 Interbond.

Figured I might give the Barnes a try so bought a box of the 168 Tipped TSX.

According to my Hornady gauge, the bullet seems to hit the lands at about 2.875". Ive heard people say get Barnes .050" off the lands. Is this still the general consensus? So I am thinking start at 2.825"?

Any recommendations on loads? I am thinking about trying RL15, Varget, RL17 and N550. Thinkin I will stick with 215M primers?

These things are expensive to experiment with. If nothing shoots well within 50 of these things, I guess I will stick to the 180 SSTs as my elk, deer and black bear load.

Last edited:
I have no 300 wsm experience . I have used Barnes bullets . here is the instruction sheet that was packed with the TSX bullets . hope it helps . Jim

info.jpg

Last edited:
I spent time yesterday shooting 168 TTSX bullets out of my Ruger Mark II in 300WSM. I have been working up loads using this bullet and two powders that you mentioned. Both N550 and RL-17 have worked quite well in my gun but as of now I plan to use RL-17 as the load that I will take on my Wy. elk hunt in Oct. . My goal was to find an accurate load at about 3000 ft/sec and I was able to achieve that with both powders. I did get just a bit better accuracy with the RL-17 load.Here are my loads. They are not max loads and you can get 150-200 ft/sec more velocity it you want with this bullet and powder combinations.
WW cases
64.7 grains RL-17-3012 ft/sec average
215M Primers
.050 off the lands as the instruction sheet recommends

N550 load 62.5 grains 2990ft/sec
Norma cases
WLRM primers
.050 off the lands to start