Bedding Question on Magpul Hunter Stock

OnCall605

I just purchased a Magpul Hunter Stock for Remington 700 LA. The recoil lug area on the stock is very generous and I'm getting some pretty inconsistent groups. I'm wondering if that is the cause. Has anyone on here bedded one of these stocks and if so did you do a full bedding job or just around the recoil lug area? This is a project gun for me and I'm new to bedding so would take any advice I can get, especially since this one has the v block.

I just bedded the lug with jb weld.
You are at the mercy of Remington and their stamped recoil lugs and barrels.
Bedding the lug will help if it's not perfectly straight. A bent or not clocked properly lug will not let the lug strike the lug recess evenly. When that happens it can shift groups or give you a flier because the action will shift to one side. I don't see a need to try and bed the entire action in that particular stock.
A Remington action responds well to bedding and aftermarket lugs because of this.

The prep is the most important thing. I use masking tape where there could be a little bit of the material to ooze out.i use black electric tape on the barrel for the free float thickness. MAKE sure you USE PLENTY Of RELEASE AGENT

I switched out stock lug to Remington Holland .250 thickness lug on a Remage barrel build which helped a lot sucking up the space. So far, rifle shooting well so have not seen need to bed this lug. Check your torque, its a full bedding block so it is more than expected. I believe 55-65inlb is needed for synthetic with bedding block. Stock torque critical for consistency.

Last edited:
Thar old of a rifle probably has long rifling....shoot lighter weight bullets...??