action blueprinting?

Complete accurize. 0f your Rem Actions. This includes single point truing of action, threads,locking surface trued, receiver faced and bolt raceway reamed all in one fixture. Custom PTG bolt with Sako extractor, extended bolt handle. Bolt is then helical (spiral) fluted for smooth operation in very close tollerances. *$400*

ADD *$50* for eccellerated firing pin.

Taken from 308Nate's website, http://www.straightshotgunsmithing.com/

Joe Oakes

John Hinnant has an excellent, detailed booklet with complete instructions, drawings, and tooling drawings for Remington actions. I'll watch this thread, and if you don't find it on the net, I'll post more detail; publisher, etc.

Hinnant says that all 40X actions are blueprinted at Remington, so if you can get one of them, it's supposed to come blueprinted.

Brownell's also has some of the tooling for blueprinting Remingtons.

Tom

Last edited:
thanks guys. i am just starting out as a gunsmith and just finsihed school in febuary, they didnt teach us anything that goes into buleprinting other than facing the reciver. so i figured i would find out what all went into it before i screw something up. thanks huntinfool18

What school did you go to ??

I would have thought that blue printing an action would have been one of the major lessons in building a good rifle

What school did you go to ??

I would have thought that blue printing an action would have been one of the major lessons in building a good rifle

I too thought blueprinting would have been addressed BUT
The first thing we have to teach a graduate of welding school is HOW TO WELD!!!!! Go figure????

i went to the colorado school of trades. the mainly focus on design and function and machining, but they did cover a little bit of everything. just not a full buleprint job.

huntin, the booklet I mentioned last night is- SUPPLEMENT 1 BLUEPRINTING AN ACTION (to) THE COMPLETE ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO PRECISION RIFLE BARREL FITTING BY: JOHN L. HINNANT