accuracy & 'Node'

zdr

I've been reading some of the info on here regarding 'nodes.' I am by no means an expert reloader - learning over the last few years really.
I just purchased my first chrono and tested some loads this week. My results are:
Set 1: V ave: 2622, ES: 27, SD 12.8
Set 2: V ave: 2690, ES: 104, SD 42.6
Set 3: V ave: 2699, ES: 28, SD 14.7
Set 4: V ave: 2738, ES: 103, SD: 45
Set 5: V ave: 2752, ES: 20, SD 8.2

Sets 1, 3 & 5 were similar in accuracy and no pressure signs (set 5 is slightly over book max).
I assume that these 3 sets are considered the load accuracy nodes? or would only set 5 be considered that? Or is it something else?

zdr

With the barrel length and the OBT table or spreadsheets, you will be able to determine the timing.

With QuickLoad, some simple measurements and data entry you will be able to model your load and QL can estimate the barrel time.

Then a little fine tuning.

Below is why...

It's really cool and using it I have been able to get acceptable accuracy for the task of that load in as few as 10 shots. I shoot alot and the price of QL is well covered by the savings in bullets, powder, primer and range time. Range time hitting the steel at 700 yards is the goal. Proving loads is fun but not as fun as whacking 5" dueling tree swingers at 700 yards. Well other than hunting and 1000 yard match's.

Thank you for the OBT link and QL recommendations. Much appreciated!

zdr

I think you should know it's a little more complicated than expressed so far.
There are pressure nodes, seating nodes, and barrel nodes, which are completely independent of one another.
Then you have compatability as an attribute between reloading components, brass, powder, primers, and bullets -to chamber & bore.
That is, some combination, which is in no way predictable, is best amidst other combinations. Some are terrible.
Every barrel is different & unpredictable until proven to be just what it is.