7mm Build Questions

No worries here. I understand that every man has a different level of experience in hunting and shooting. Being able to dope the wind beyond belief only applies to avid outdoorsman which frequently practice and know their limitations. I have hunted my whole life but have only long range hunted since 2008. I know my limitations and use state of the art tools which evolve every year. I use spotter when shots maybe close to what I feel my limits are. Now back to the thread. I feel the 195 Berger is probably the best .284 long range bullet avaiable. .814 bc above 3000 fps. I am currently building a custom 7rum for this bullet. The next one inline without a doubt tried and tested is the regular 7rem mag berger 180 or JLK 180. These 2 bullets have pounded game in their tracks for me. I have had some bad experiences with Berger bullets in other calibers. Here in Wyo there are more than our share of long rangers. I am 30 to 90 miles away from Cloud Peak Gunworks, Best of the West and Gunwerks. Gunwerks actually hold long range shooting schools. Like I said before everyones level of confidence and experience is different.

Hi Lrt307,

I got the following from eastmans.com:

"He asked me, "Do you know the difference between hunters and snipers?"

I had a pretty good idea where he was going with it but asked him to explain more.
He continued, "Hunters have to be more accurate than snipers. As a sniper I only have to hit a target and he's out of the battle, as a hunter I must cleanly kill with each and every round." When you sit back and think about that, it makes total sense.