6-24X50 30mm scope - which one?

Ian, question again, first thanks for the response. But for a newbie, the more I read, the more confusing I get. Now I am interested in the Nightforce NXS 5.5-22 but you mentioned that going from 40 to 50mm OBJ is not that advantages then why NXS with a 56mm OBJ? If I am willing to spend the money, is the NF NXS 5.5-22x56 much better (please excuse my over-generalization of the word "better", I am new to this field)than the IOR 6-24x50? consider there is a 33% price premium goingfrom IOR to NXS.

Also, Happy New Year everyone!
grin.gif

Feifer,
Good question. You could certainly do that and be happy. I just don't use my high range variables much on the highest power, matter of fact the Burris and Leupolds in the range you are talking are not currently on rifles. Only exception is a 5.5-22 NXS and it is on a 17 pound bench rifle and it is a sharp, bright scope at 22X but more $.

The lower range variables are smaller and lighter and really effective on my .223's. Guess this comes down to personal preference - if you really want a higher power range scope in 30mm with side paralax and 50mm objective then go for it. Sometimes we got to scratch an itch to feel good, right!

To better answer your question, I find that the image is brighter and seems sharper when I crank the big scopes down to midrange. That is usually 12-14 or so. Eye relief is definitely less critical. When I put the 14, 15, 16 power scopes on max they are sharp and bright -- just works that way for my eyes.

Just to muddy the water a bit more, I really doubt that the 50mm objective will give you much over the 40's in most light we shoot varmints and targets in.