35 whelen new

Elkriver

I'm new to the the 35 whelen going on a moose hunt in oct and trying to figure out what to work for a load guide said max shot is 200 yds so I was thinking
Hornaday fxt 200gr b.c is 300 then I found nozlers acubond 225 with BC of .430
If if I can get them both say 2500 fps. Thiers about 700flb difference at 100yds and almost 1000 flbs at 200 dose it mater at that point... 1700flbs at say 200 yds should kill a moose right with proper shoot plase ment

I'd say get both and try them. BC at 200 yards shouldn't matter. I took my moose at 217 yards with a .30-06 and 200gr Accubond. Found the projectile under the hide on the opposite shoulder, clean hole through the heart. Hit her hard enough to roll her over once, then she went about another 50 yards at the most before dumping. Bullet retained about 80% of its weight.

She dressed at 666lbs, devil cow, but tasted great! If I get another draw, I think I'll be going with Accubonds again.

SHM

How fast was yer bullet going .. I was going of of BC. High BC harder it hits according to back of Speer vol 14 ... Whered u shoot yer moose "zone " ...

35 Whelen will knock over a moose at greater than 200 yards. I shoot a 358 winchester which is the little brother, and I would have no trouble at all reaching out to 300 yards. My best buddy shoots a 35 Whelen and he has killed literally TONs of game with it at and beyond 200 yards and never lost an animal or needed more than one shot. Load up some 225 Nosler Partitions or Accubonds and have at it!

I never chrono'd that load. I was using a Walmart special Mossberg ATR. It was a gift from my father years ago before I really started my collection, and it was his hunt, I was the sub permittee holder. We shot ours in Northern Maine. It was cow only, and it was in 2007, in between two deployments for me. It was a special hunt for us both.