308 blr

bamadawg2009

So I have been reloading for about 16 years now but have never loaded for my Browning BLR in 308. My question is do I need to crimp bullets for the magazine or will I be fine just loading like I do for my bolt guns and not crimp. Im only asking because if I dont have to crimp it opens my bullet selection up a whole bunch instead of just using canalured bullets like I do in my autos.

Since the rounds are held in a standard magazine you should be fine with a more normal bullet tension. That would be the care you would give bolt action rounds.

Most of the time bullets are held very secure just by seating them, no addition crimp. You can run into some combinations of brass, bullet, die & process where that isn't the final outcome. Unless you run into that I'd just go forward with just seating the bullet normally.

I do measure the chamber with a specific bullet to make sure I am off the 'lands' enough so as to not stuck a bullet while out hunting. Most of the time it isn't an issue.

I kind of figured Id be ok without a crimp but just checking to see if anybody had ever had any issues not crimping for them.

Depending on what type of resizing you're doing, whether it full length of just neck resizing, one of the manufacturers recommendations (Lee, to be precise) is that when using Lee's Collet Neck Sizer, that it will only resize the neck .001 smaller than the diameter of the bullet (giving you .001 neck tension). With that type of resizing, Lee recommends you put on a slight crimp using the Lee Factory Crimp....

Im full length sizing with reddings, but I do have a lee factory crimp die already that I use when I load for my dads BAR. While Im into this can I crimp on a bullet that does not have the cannalure and be fine?

Bamadawg...