300 RUM for starters

adamsoa

I'm just getting into long range shooting. I've been a dedicated bow hunter because I like to get close. However, I'm really starting to really like long range shooting too.
My first gun was a Remington 700 in 7mm mag. A few years ago I sent it to Virgin Valley and had them out on a new stock and make it into a 300 RUM with a 28"barrel. We played around alot with loads and have found one that really does well. I've killed deer out to 680 yards with it my trusty Nikon Monarch scope. With this scope I dont feel comfortable shooting much more than this. I want to get a new scope and get a little more serious about my long range shooting.
Along with that I had a remington 700 .234 that I wanted to play with. My brother talked me into changing this gun. It is now a 6.5-284. Night Owl from Salt Lake City put a 28" barrel on it blue printed the action and did quite a bit of work on the stock. We are getting ready to start working in this gun also but it is in desperate need of a scope too.

I just returned from the annual Idaho Whitetail hunt. I was shooting my .270 wsm. I had the oppertunity to shoot a deer at 600 yards and loved it. The place we were watching would have given me the oppertunity to shoot out to 1000 yards. I'm looking forward to lots of practice and trying some of these shots next year.

I'm looking for advice on scopes and other eqquipment that I would need to start working on my shooting at these longer distances.

RE: Scope recommendations.

I think a lot would depend on your personal preference such as hold over/under or click.

If hold over/under than an appropriate, personally comfortable reticle would be in order.