260 AI vs 260

tonechaser88

Is it a big pain to run a 260 AI (6.5-08ai) ? Any way around the specific dies? Anyone neck sizing only ? I've no experience with it. Was considering the 260ai for my next build . Thanks in advance.

Might just run the 260 rem if it's not worth the pain … not planning on running long bullets , probably 122 cayugas or 124 hammers in a short barrel . Just have no experience with reloading for the AI version

Is it a big pain to run a 260 AI (6.5-08ai) ? Any way around the specific dies? Anyone neck sizing only ? I've no experience with it. Was considering the 260ai for my next build . Thanks in advance.
Do you have a pre existing platform? Or building from scratch?

If you have a pre existing platform and are working with the short action, your not going to massive speed going the ai route With modern powder like rl26, (if it works in your gun) you will get pretty descent speed from the standard 260 And the standard 260 is still no slouch with h4350 However, I'd your working with that length action, the same applies to the ai version So it really just depends on how much pain your willing to endure for say 150fps With the ai you will have to fire form Ai variants can have issues feeding reliably depending on how steep the shoulder is

If your working from scratch and building, I would suggest 6.5prc or 6.5 saum (if you reload) Either will get you way more crank with way less pain in the 6.5 family. Norma is great but your into a long action And the prc or saum will still push a bit harder

Most common practice would be full length neck bushing die

You will gain 100-150fps and possibly some case life going to the AI. In mine I can run a 129 or 125 up to 3100-3140, and the 140-144's up to 3K with rl26 and around 2900 with h4831.

Fire-forming is no big deal, dies are easy as Redding makes them. As long as it is setup as a true ai with a bit of crush on standard 260 brass standard ammo works very well.