25-06 reload recipie for 75gr vmax

Jared Maness

I read some of the threads on reloading the 75gr vmax but most are from a few years ago. I am looking to load the 75s to about 3650fps in a Sako A7 24.4 barrel for predators mainly coyotes cats and fox. Fur damage isnt super important but I dont want to destroy them I need the weight to be good still. (Varmint contests)

Oal is 3.100 and we started with 57gr of Reloader 19 but I dont think it will get us to the velocity I am looking for. There are a few new powders I see on the market and I was wanting to know if anyone has had success with them. I am going to try 7828ssc 63 grains also here soon. Any suggestions?
I am a novice at reloading but I'm being helped by my father.

I use Hodgdon H-100V for the lighter bullets in the .25-'06. Excellent accuracy in my rifle and the shot string statistics are solid. I would start at 53 grains and work up. I'm at 56 gr. behind the 75 gr. V-Max and getting just a tick under 3,700 fps out of a 28" barrel.

That bullet is not very fur-friendly. It tends to wreck stuff properly, especially at higher velocities. If you want good terminal performance (no crawlers) and less damage to the target, you might want to use a 100 gr. Speer BTSP. You can push that bullet pretty fast with H-100V or H4831SC and it won't disassemble your target like the V-Max will at 3,600+.