What happened to the '06?

I've been reloading and firing those reloads for over 40 years now. I guess I've been living on borrowed time. I must have extra strong bolt lugs. On every bolt action rifle I've ever loaded for. If I can get five or more firings out of a brass casing before the primer pockets loosen up, I feel pretty comfortable. Even with strong Lapua or RWS manufactured brass. If I get 10 or more firings before the primer pockets loosen up, I add more powder... :)

all that discussion about pressure and velocity and safety are way off topic .

Roy.....I apologize for that and was thinking the same thing yesterday! I guess I let Bart finally get to me. Anyway, there won't be anymore from me on here.....Thanks/Rich

all that discussion about pressure and velocity and safety are way off topic .

If not for 'all that discussion', the post count would have ended at 40. And 'all that discussion' began with debate over the performance of an improved '06 casing, which is the topic of this thread.

The OP isn't objecting...

If not for 'all that discussion', the post count would have ended at 40. And 'all that discussion' began with debate over the performance of an improved '06 casing, which is the topic of this thread.

I think most posters are pretty honest on what their getting from their rifles and since this is a LR hunting site we deal in lot of wildcats like the Allen mag etc. What always set this site apart was be didn't need to hear "Prove with with pressure test".

Phorwath- you are exactly right . i should prefaced with "i feel" or "it is my opinion". sorry . are you from az?? - hope we helped CLINT. roninflag

I have to disagree about using velocity and a chrony as an absolute pressure indicator for all the reasons I list in my previous post. I'll also add this.