Savage Bolt

Cruizin

I was wondering if anyone could give me a little advise. I decided to build a gun from a savage action. I need to change the bolt head and bolt lever, but I'm having a hard time finding much info on it. There is the savage shooters website but there is a membership charge that I'm not really interested in. It's not about the money just don't want to have to sign up for something like a website.

I'm an engineer and fix all kinds of things so basically I'm just wondering if there is anything I need to look out for. It's from an older 110 model. I was looking at the bolt and there is a big screw on the back (flat head screw). I'm thinking I need to remove this then the firing pin assy looks like it is locked in with a pin that is cammed in. The bolt head seems to be held in with a dowel that must have a hole in it for the firing pin to go through.

I'm thinking I just need to remove the screw on the back and the firing pin assy should come out next then pound out the pin? Does this sound right?

Do I need to worry about measuring the firing pin or adjusting it in any way?

I appreciate any advice.

Thanks,
Nick

The Savage Shooters forum is the first place I send folks, as there is tons of info specifically for your question there. When I was building my Savage, I purchased a one year membership and downloaded all the articles etc. They were a great help.

AJ