Results: Load Development & Accurizing (part 1)

FullCurlHunter

Results: Load Development & Accurizing (part 1)
I have been a member for over a year now and have always been a poster of "how to" posts asking for others opinions... I figured I would change that up with posting some personal things that I have done to my rig, what I would like to do and results from what I have done so far. I want to give you all the full story so this may be long but hopefully an enjoyable read as I have learned a lot about this rifle and rifles in general through these processed.
Rifle Build: I was a college student at the time and wanted a gun to handle anything in North America specifically targeting a lightweight western high country rifle for which I have a lot of interest hunting some day. I had a lot saved up and bought a Weatherby Mk V ULW chambered in 300 wby mag from Sportsman's Warehouse. After a lot of research, I put on Talley's lightweight one piece rings supporting a Zeiss 4.5-14x44mm with the side parallax. I also sent the rifle out to a well known gunsmith to have a stainless steal accubrake with the matte finish installed (after nearly breaking my nose shooting the bare rifle...great decision). I know there are a lot of mixed opinions on muzzlebreaks but boy was I impressed with the accubrake. Recoil is not an issue at all out of a lightweight in a heavy magnum caliber.
Picture014-1.jpg

I broke the barrel in with 5 shots with cleaning in between then 5 3 shot groups cleaning in between then 5 sets of 5 shot groups cleaning in between. All using a one piece cleaning rod with a jag, patch, brush and Sweets 7.62 copper fouling solvent.