Need help with bullet seating

longbowelk

I am using an old RCBS single stage press. I am using RCBS dies and this is for a 7mm08. Been loading off and on 40 years. Not an expert but self taught and still learning thanks to this site. I used to go by loading books etc and seat my bullets by COAL. After being on this site and really learning about bullet seating depth using the base to ogive (bto) measurement using a Hornady tool and dial caliper I am realizing how to really seat the bullet for better accuracy etc. Here is problem: I loaded about 50 once fired Hornady brass after trimming to 2.025. I used the 140 gr Nosler AB. I set the BTO to 2.285. After doing a few and measuring I went ahead and finished the rest.. After shooting a 3 and 5 round group the grouping was over 1". I pulled out the ammo and started remeasuring the BTO. To my surprise I had a range of 2.285 to 2.291.
Is there something I am doing wrong or is the die messed up? Any suggestions as this is totally not satisfactory.
Thanks for any and all help.

If you're using a dense charge the base of the bullet may be hitting the powder charge and easing slightly upward as you withdraw pressure from the seating die! You can solve that problem by charging the case using a droptube!!

Im not sure what you mean by taking short cuts. Unless you are referring to not measuring each one. I figured if the first 2 were correct that it was set and the rest would be good.
As far as the powder being compressed I do not believe it is. 46 gr of IMR4350 doesn't appear to be compressed. I'm thinking that I am still under max powder.
I guess I should take the die apart and examine it.

Could be that bullet not being a match bullet has a lot.of.variations. try sorting a box with the bullet.comparator

Could be that old RCBS press has worn linkages

Could be your seater stem

Could be if you are going for.precision that you need to buy a benchrest seater die