HS PRECISION STOCK OFF 5R

got a 300 Win Mag 700 5-R Stainless Threaded Gen 2 came with a HS but did not like the size of the forearm. Replaced it with the Magpul plus for a few bucks more you can add removal able mag's . Big plus to me Liked it so much now I got a 700 Magpul in 308

I wonder if you can take the bedding block out and use pillars? HS is pretty decent quality, some people sand the palmswell a bit and custom paint the stock afterwards.

Got yeah. So how do you like them? Would you rather have one of the HS of a R5 or a stocky's they are about the same price. I have no experience with stockys I have a HS on a savage model 10 and like it!

mason3379 I want to thank you for mentioning Grayboe stocks.
I contacted Ryan at Grayboe and told him I have a 300 weatherby mag that's a Vanguard action maybe Howa.
He said he did not have a stock in stock yet for the rifle I have but in 2 months it will be available.No metal bedding block in stock.He too said their stocks absord recoil and should make it an easy shooting rifle.The stock was quoted at 359.00
A lot better price than Manners.Manners would be lighter as they use carbon fiber to build the stock and then add fiberglass to finish it out.
That might just be my next stock.Thanks again.
Old Rooster

Buy a chassis and be done with bedding etc.

My 6.5 Creedmoor in an MDT LSS Chassis.

Attachments

• IMG_0996.jpg
    IMG_0996.jpg
    756.3 KB · Views: 84
You don't need to bed a chassis at all. Torque down to specs and sequence.

I simply don't believe that is really completely true. The mating surface of a chassis isn't any different from the mating surface of a bedding block (or even a perfectly molded synthetic stock). Even if we assume that the precision of that mating surface might be absolutely totally perfect (which it probably isn't), I know for an absolute fact that the mating surface of the receiver isn't perfect at all and no two are the exactly the same.