Help me make 1000 yard shot, chart attached

Gar Guru

Disclaimer- I am new at this Long Range shooting game. Took my factory rem 700 (did add a drop in Timney trigger) chambered in .300RSAUM with a Leupold VX5HD to a big cornfield saturday to shoot and create some DOPE. Last fall I had shot it to 500 consistently and my goal is to join the 1000 yard club. Am shooting a 155ELDM at 2970 and the data from the Hornady 4DOF chart is very close to what I actually did. The drop in MOA was consistently greater from one yardage to the next until I jumped from 800 to 900 yards. How could this be? It was getting dark and I took one poke at 1000 dialing in 29.75 moa and missed the target completely and I think I was too high. In your opinion, what moa should I dial up to go back and get a hit at 1000 if conditions are the same? Thanks

Attachments

• Drop Chart.jpg
    Drop Chart.jpg
    45 KB · Views: 368
Tough to answer that question with knowing your altitude and humidty, etc. Assuming 2000 DA, I'm coming up with 29 MOA for 1000. Doesn't sound like a big difference, but .75 MOA at 1000 yards is about 8".

Do you a dirt berm or something behind your target so you can see impacts?

I would go back at a different time of day and try the same dope at 900 and 1000. It looks to me that there may have been some environmental factors that caused the shift between the time that you shot 800 and 900. Change in temperature and light conditions can play havoc on POI vs POA. Did you notice anything changing in sight picture clarity between 800 yds and 900 yds?

it was 80 degrees and late in afternoon with left to right 1-2 mph wind with about 20 minutes between shots. Dialed up 1 moa windage and my shots at 600,700,800, and 900 were all about 6 inches to right of bullseye. I have a tall cardboard target to take back next time, am thinking that will save me some frustration and ammo to get a 1000 hit.