Building Bullet Up!!

Broke Okie Ty

Let me start this with a disclaimer: I am new to the rifle building and reloading thing and really want to learn. I have always just bought guns/ammo from (insert box store here). I am equating the question I have to what I know, which is car/trucks. Now, when I build a car/4x4/ect, I start with the motor. Build a good motor, then a good chassis around that.

I have a bone stock savage 111 in 300wm. I was thinking I would start by getting load ideas that way when I re-barrel I can order it in the correct twist . The first round being for elk/bear with the 215 berger hybrid and the second 185 berger hybrid for mule deer/down to cats.

Is this sound thinking OR am I way off base?

EDIT: Also I am open to any advice. I am not here looking for affirmation or validation of my thoughts.

So the 215 isn't to big for mule deer? From what I understand the build may not like the Bergers. From what I have read, I could end up going through a dozen bullet/powder combos to find the right one. Can you direct me on comparable bullets? There is so much info out there that I am have a hard time sifting through it.

why wouldnt it shoot the 215? I own plenty of savages to say that it should shoot it just fine. I havnt had a problem with any of my savages shooting berger bullets. I have some with factory barrels and some with aftermarket barrels, all seem to shoot them great and were easy to find a load for.

So the 215 isn't to big for mule deer? From what I understand the build may not like the Bergers. From what I have read, I could end up going through a dozen bullet/powder combos to find the right one. Can you direct me on comparable bullets? There is so much info out there that I am have a hard time sifting through it.