Help building a long range set up

bryanfields

Hey, I'd like to build a long range set up. I'm looking at a Savage action ($500 if I bought the gun new), Shilen drop-in barrel ($400 installed from a local gs), and Choate tactical stock ($200). The cost of the set-up (minus rings, glass, etc) would be around $1,100. That seems to be a much better option than paying $3,000 - $5,000 for a custom gun. I'm a newbie so can you seasoned fellas tell me, is there something I'm missing? Would the set-up I've listed above not be just as good as a custom set up? Thanks! I can list the caliber, barrel contour, etc, if that's relevant to get a good answer to my question. Also, I'm guessing I'm not the first guy to ask this question, but I can't find a thread that specifically addresses this question.

It sounds like a good setup but there are differences. Yes the barrel is a key component as is the stock. The action is also very key to a true reliable long range setup. The tolerences the alignment of the base mounting holes the trigger all play vital roles. The savage does have a good adjustable trigger and I am by no means downing the setup because it sounds great even especially on a budget. I just built a custom barrel for a pro hunter. I can tell u that the friend that helped me used a shilen match barrel on a similar set up and it had quite a bit of run out when we put it in the lathe. I used a pac nor and it had .001 run out the entire length of 31" That is real quality and the fluting and contour are perfect. Good luck

That is a fine start for a long range setup. I would consider a used 110 or a Stevens 200. It would be best if your smith could true up the action. The new Savages have a fine trigger but the older ones leave a lot to be desired. A Timney is a good affordable alternative. A PTG bolt body is a good way to tighten up the action and add a little bling.

PTG Bolt Body Savage 110 Long Action Spiral Fluted