270 Allen Mag shooting

lerch

<strong>SPONSOR</strong>
Me and Bill Bailey went out this morning and shot our 270AM's since we finally got a break from the 109deg heat wave I have nicknamed satans crotch 2006!!!

Morning shooting went good with early temps around 70-80deg's and a light northwind that was very welcome. The 101gr load of US 869 I was shooting showed promise at 400yds so I decide to do some more shooting in the evening.

BJ printed me off a sheet from exbal that gave me rough drops out to 1k so I headed out at 6:00pm. After setting up a 2ft by 2ft box covered in butchers paper at 650yds I headed back to my shooting spot. I decided to shoot prone in the back of my truck. I prefer shooting prone to sitting at a bench. This is the way I started shooting and I simply like this better.

There is nothing wrong with our Varmint Masters bench, it is by far the best portable bench I have ever shot at and the swivel ability is astounding. I just like belly shooting better and I feel more stable.

Exbal called for 5moa up from my 400yd zero. I settled in and found the 2.5" shoot n see target in my crosshairs. The rifle basix trigger broke at around 10oz and the 169.5 ULD was on her way. I couldnt spot a impact but on the second shot I saw the splash just above the box.

Using the NPR-2 reticle I judged the miss to be 1moa high with perfect windage. I took out the moa and fired the 3rd round, i thought i saw a bullet land near the center but I wasnt sure. Shot 4 was clearly just to the side of the bullseye and I decided to let her cool down.

I went to the 20-60 80mmHD Swaro and easily saw the 2 bullets holes just inside 1" apart. I was very pleased so far but I wanted to let the big 270 cool down. I switched to a Kimber varmint 22-250 we are selling at our shop. I had shot this rifle once before in a local tournament and she proved very accurate.