Zeroing on short ranges? Newbie stuff...

rdash

Although I've been shooting for many years, I am just starting into longish ranges. In UK ranges tend to the short as we rapidly run out of land. I have a 200 yard range at home, and the nearest official shooting range (Bisley!!!) is a couple of hours away. Are there any short cuts for zeroing for 350-400yds+? A touching faith in ballistic tables might be one way, but I have no experience of the efficacy of this. Rig to be used is HS Varmint in .223, silenced, with Zeiss 6-24x56. Fields I will be shooting in are not really suitable for putting up stop butt etc and 5 round strings might be thought not neighbour friendly despite silencer. This is major consideration given very awkward position occupied by shooting in this country.
Grateful for any suggestions.
Regards
Rdash

I agree on the ballistics table use... Check the values from a 100 yard zero to the tested 200 yard values against the computed trajectory sheet but for 300 and 400 yards you won't be too far off.

barreledaction
Suppressors are legal in a great many places in the U. S., all that's required in many instances is State review and/or approval then Federal approval and payment of a $200 fee. Be careful when moving from state to state as some states require notification, some states allow supressed weapons for hunting and other do not even though supressors may be legal in that state.

Hi rdash,welcome.
Where abouts are you? I am exactly 100 from miles Bisley and 101 miles from Minsterly where i shoot.
Have you read my thread "great news range re-opens".

Ian.

"I mean't to shoot the pike but the duck got in the way"