questions about 270win and reloading

cstilt

I'm new to reloading and long range hunting. This site seemed to be the best source of information so I wanted to see if I could get a bit of help. I'm about to start handloading for a Browning A-Bolt II with Boss in 270Win. I'm wanting to use the Nosler 130gr Accubond with H4831SC powder like listed in the Nosler manual. I also have Win brass and Federal stanadard primers. My expected longest shot will be 400 yards. Short by a lot of members standards, but in the hungting I do in WV that's litterally ridge to ridge.

I tried to find answers to my questions on the site, but had no luck. Any help is greatly appreciated.

To get started I bought a Hornady Lock N Load Kit and found the electronic scale to be accurate to +/- 0.2gr. How much can I expect this variance to affect my accuracy and ability to approach the recommended max loads? I'm wanting my loads to be consistant, but can't really afford to put in the money for another more accurate scale. What do you consider a good amount to increase each load by while working up? I've been told 0.5-1gr by different people.

I also measured a few Accubond bullets. The length of them seems to vary slightly from bullet to bullet. When using COAL to determine the distance to the lands of the bullets, how much variation do you consider to be too much? On the topic of distance from lands. Do you vary this with each charge increase or with starting loads only to find the best distance?

Also, any experience with this bullet/powder combo will be of help. Seemed like a good place to start my trials. Any thoughts?

Thanks for the help, sorry for the long post.
Chris