Help! What scope do I buy???

HeftyLefty39

Current Equipment
Gun: 7mm Rem Mag
Current Scope Leupold 4x12x40
Trigger pull: factory
Range Finder: 400yd distance max
Bullet: Hunting reload that i'm working on maximizing

Goal: I'm a midwesterner and I want to go out west and hunt either Elk, Pronghorn, or Antelope and be accurate out to 1000yds

Questions: I want to put a new scope on my rifle...Do I need a Mil-dot rectical scope with a fixed power, would a adjustable farzone scope be best with range finder???? I've got time to plan for the best places to hunt and to save money for good gear...I don't want to break the bank though. I really would like to be able to hit an 8x8 plate at 1000yrds and do it consistantly. I've looked into the pocket PC with the program that calculates your adjustments for you if you have a Meteorology (Met) calculator. Thats probably considered cheating to some of you. But i'm just getting into this. Anyways, i'm not looking to put a $2000 scope on. Maybe a $1000 scope, but which one and is it really tough to mount it? I've got more questions than we have time and space really...I do not want to send if off to have someone else sight it in with the ammo I so choose...I want to do that work part of things. I just don't know about long range optics, range finders, scope mounts, or whatever else I may need. Lets say the budget is $1500.00, $1000 for scope and $500 for range finder or extra...what do you guys think??? Oh and is altering a 7mm rem mag trigger pull something manageable on your own because I altered my .17HMR sear to have a 2lb pull...or do I need a gunsmith and pricing???

Hey Lefty

I was in the same prediciment awhile go with my .338 win. What I ended up doing was taking the scope off and sending it to leupold to have M1 turrent knobs installed. Cost me about 130 bucks. As far as your trigger, I would have it lightened to two pounds depending on the gun either by you or a smith. Hope this helps and good luck

Hey lefty,