Full Moon During Bull Hunt in NV 111-115, 221 & 222

seighen

OK, so I need some insite. I have pulled my first Elk tag (rifle Nov 4-18) and unfortunately it is in an area I was told to put in for, but I have zero experience in (kinda dumb, I know). I have been doing some reading and heard a lot of archery hunters talking about the phase of the moon during the season and how during a full moon the elk will graze at night and be less active during the day. During my season, the moon will be going from half full to full and then back to half again, so there is going to be light in the sky during the entire season. Unlike archery, there is no rut happening during the rifle season, so there is really nothing to keep them active during the day.

How important is this and what should I be expecting to see, or not see...? If I am not camping on the mountain top, what times should I plan to be on the hill?

Hopefully I am not chasing a minute detail, but it has me concerned as I am truely a novice here.

Jamie

In my opinion the dark of the moon is optimum. Even with a moon you can still catch them moving to their beds so you need to quietly be in place a first light. I don't hunt elk past three in the afternoon....just cause.

If you know what you're doing and have a good partner to hunt with you can work a mountain side where elk are bedded and jump shoot them. That used to be my most favorite thing to do for both elk and mule deer. Now though that I'm older and the long range thing is working pretty good I let the boys work the mountain side and I pop them from across the canyon if a good shot presents itself. Of course you need to do the home work and know where the elk are bedded.

If you're lucky and it's overcast day and night then the moon does not have much influence and in November that's a good possibility

Thanks Jim