Experiments in high Velocity. Georgetown, Texas

Calamity

I'm a retired research scientist. I managed a federal engineering battalion for 21 years. I was once on the USMC Rifle & Pistol Team at Camp Pendleton. I have an abiding interest in guns and ballistics. I have been reading your forums for awhile, and occasionally have an urge to comment, so I joined. One of your readers asked for ideas for achieving 5000 fps with a .22 cal pill of 44 gr. NASA-Ames once built a fixed pressure gun firing BB size steel ball bearings at 10,000 fps through an evacuated pipe several hundred feet long. I think it was a .243 cartridge loaded with a fast powder. The projectile was a sabot with a BB inside. The sabot split open on leaving the muzzle and released the BB. The purpose was to test materials for resistance to micrometeorite damage. It would be interesting to work up a safe load for such a projectile in a pressure barrel or stationary mounted barreled action that could be fired remotely. A standard 30-06 or 270 would do. For the sabot, I would try graphite impregnated Rulon. San Diego Plastics has it: http://www.sdplastics.com/rulon.html

Welcome to the forum! What kind of shooting do you like to do these days?
Thanks. I developed a retinal tear in my master eye, so I haven't done a lot of shooting the past two years. I have experimented with a laser on my Colt Huntsman and that does work for me. I miss rifle shooting, and trap, and just plain plinking. I regret that there are no convenient places near me where one can just enjoy shooting. I'm living vicariously on reading the stuff you guys post. LOL