Dialing in the range

j870sm

OK, I am new to the long range game. I am comfortable out to 400+ yds with my current set up. I would not try to take an animal any farther than 400. I am shooting a 7mm Mag with Nikon scope.

I have a rifle chambered in 30-378 and feel confident in this gun being capable of much longer shots. I need a scope to put on it with the right bases.

My question is this: What is the best type of scope to get? I have seen ones with the circles, hashes etc. for elevation. I have only seen hashes for windage and I think this type of reticle is called a ballistic plex.

Next Question: On these scopes, is there a mark or "0" setting on the turrets that denotes your zero? IF not how do you know how to get back to your known "0"?

I am working on having a varmint rig put together but am still debating on caliber. Hunting in West Texas, rolling plane to extremely flat with long shots. Have been using 22-250 for yotes out to 300+ but am wanting something more. Any suggestions for a souped up varmint round? I am pretty well set on barrel, action, trigger and stock. Just need caliber and scope recommendations and my questions answered.

I have really enjoyed this site thus far. This seems like a friendly and fun place.
Thanks,
J

I have a Nikon Monarch 4-16x42 mil-dot. I will not try and answer the first question, but as far as the second question I can offer some insight.

Most, if not all medium to high dollar scopes will have MOA markings on the turrets. On many scopes you can reset the zero, meaning after you zero your scope at the range. Remove the coin slot screw, pull the turret off, line up the "0" on the turret with the zero hash mark and reinstall.

NightForce offers scopes that have "zero stop", meaning that you dial up for your yardage and just spin your turret down and stops at your zeroing point.

For scopes you can go three different routes.
1. Turret and dial up
2. Ballistic plex such as the Boone and Crockett or the ART
3. Mildot