30cal 180 gr prohunter ?

Rounder

Hello , I'm new to the LRH.
Anyone use the 180 gr prohunter in 3006 for whitetail ?
If you do, how do they perform or are they too tough ?

Rounder.

I've not used the 180 gr. Sierra Pro Hunter but I have used 165 gr. Game King and they are the best I've found in over 50 years of hunting deer with shots from about 35 yards to about 300 yards and I would be confident to shoot out to 600 yards if needs be. I shoot them in a couple of 30/06 rifles I have and load them over either IMR 4350, H 4350, or Reloader 17 powder with CCI primers.
I've heard the 180 gr. bullet was to heavy and would go right through a deer, but I guess it depends on type of caliber and distance you're shooting.

I've not used the 180 gr. Sierra Pro Hunter but I have used 165 gr. Game King and they are the best I've found in over 50 years of hunting deer with shots from about 35 yards to about 300 yards and I would be confident to shoot out to 600 yards if needs be. I shoot them in a couple of 30/06 rifles I have and load them over either IMR 4350, H 4350, or Reloader 17 powder with CCI primers.
I've heard the 180 gr. bullet was to heavy and would go right through a deer, but I guess it depends on type of caliber and distance you're shooting.

Thanks Waynzee, are you using the hollow point or the spt ?

I totally agree with Waynzee. From my 06 I shot the 150 with great succes and pride. Not a sexy bullet but... ;-)

Thanks Waynzee, are you using the hollow point or the spt ?

Soft Point Boat Tail 165 grain Sierra Game King. I have never lost a deer with this bullet, I have had a couple take a few steps but usually when I hit them through both shoulders it' s just bank, flop, DRT.

Soft Point Boat Tail 165 grain Sierra Game King. I have never lost a deer with this bullet, I have had a couple take a few steps but usually when I hit them through both shoulders it' s just bank, flop, DRT.
Thanks for the reply and sharing your experiences with the game kings.