~1100 FPS 800 Grain Barnes Bore Riding 50 Caliber Rifle Cartridge

375rifleman

I was planning on making/building a 16.5"-20" barreled rifle that will send a 800 grain Barnes Bore Riding 50 caliber (.510) bullet at around ~1100 FPS I was thinking of using a 500 Phantom. Does anyone have any ideas as to if you think that the 500 Phantom will and if not any ideas as to other possible cartridges that would ? 510 WSM , 500 Whisper, 510 Whisper, or other possible cartridges. Thanks in advance for any and all thoughts, opinions, or answers.

I started playing around with a similar project that involved a "family" .50 cal wildcats based on 338 Lapua. They basically differed in length and of course muzzle velocity. For short actions a 2.8 inch OAL that should according to quickload get you subsonic loadings for 650 grain bullets. A 3.34 inch OAL for '06 length actions. It has a little less volume than 510 Whisper. A 3.85 inch OAL for magnum actions (with Barns 650 grain TSX). I never got beyond dummy rounds with the first two but got just under 2,000 fps with the longer round and some M33 bullets which brought the length to just under 4.2 inch. My work pc doesn't let me go to photo-bucket so if you want to see some pictures pm me with your e-mail address.

Jeff

I was planning on making/building a 16.5"-20" barreled rifle that will send a 800 grain Barnes Bore Riding 50 caliber (.510) bullet at around ~1100 FPS I was thinking of using a 500 Phantom. Does anyone have any ideas as to if you think that the 500 Phantom will and if not any ideas as to other possible cartridges that would ? 510 WSM , 500 Whisper, 510 Whisper, or other possible cartridges. Thanks in advance for any and all thoughts, opinions, or answers.

I see you are still kicking this idea around, except the change from the 750 Amax.:D