What scope to start with, 100-1000yd. hunting?

DanielLudwig

Im just getting started on buying my own long range equipment, and im looking for a good scope to start with to hunt deer with. my only real stipulations are no fixed power scopes, as i do ocasionally have to shoot a deer on the move at 100-200yds and while that doesnt require a huge field of view, id like to have some options, and hopefully something that will pull in some light for those last 15 minutes of daylight shots. that being said i should also note that im a 21 year old college student...so please be nice to my wallet if at all possible!
thanks
Dan

I would recommend the new Nikon buckmaster SF 4X14 mil dot or crosshair scope. I have a mil dot scope and am very impressed with the optical quality, low light performance and turrents. Mine repeats just fine.

The one gives my all time favorite scopes the Elite 4000/4200 scopes a good nip at the heels. When you throw in that the Nikons cost under $270 delivered, best bang for the buck.

Put them in Burris Sig Zee rings with inserts and you have a formidable set up for any distance you are likely to shoot at.

Jerry

sightron sII 6x24 target scope, or new sII side focus. Sightron have good glass and track very well. They also have all the MOA you will need for 1000 yard shooting. Good Luck

Jerry, thank you for posting that. I am in the process of helping my bro bring his shooting to a new level (note my post in bullets bbls and balisitcs) and I was eyeballin' that exact scope (the buckmaster) earlier this evening. Do you really like the turrets? Could you post a picture of them since the catalog picts don't ever show any detail.

Do they offer a screw on sunshade for them? Are there threads to use if we had to have a shade manufactured? He really wants a sunshade and I dont blame him. I have a 6" on my Leo and love it.

Now I'm really excited about this project.

Here is one of the pages that I was looking at.

4ked Horn,