What 300 win mag bullet for Elk

encoreguy

Well my gun arrived today, that was a relief as I am running out of time to prep for this Fall's elk hunt in Colorado. Anyway, I was able to find some H1000 powder, CCI LR Mag primers, I am waiting on some brass but I need advise on what bullets to try in my reloads for Elk? This will be fairly open country so shots could be long. This is my first time reloading for the 300 WM, but not new to reloading, so I wanted your opinions on some good bullets to start my search for the perfect hunting load for my gun? Any advise?

I think it's technical classification is " will blow your elk out of his hooves" :D Seriously, the 215 is Target but it's one of the best proven elk bullets out there period!!
I like bullets over 200 grains for 30 cal on elk, so my top three are the 215 Berger, 230 Berger and the 200 Accucond.

Is the hybrid classified as a hunting or target bullet?

It is just as I stated the 215 Hybrid target. But we were hunting when we killed all those elk including a very nice bull I took just over 600 yards. :)

From the 22 big game animals I have gutted after shot with only one of them I do not classify them as hunting or Target bullets. I classify them as "Premium killing bullets"

Jeff

When I was working up loads for my 300 I loaded some of the 215's and in order for them to fit my mag well they were seated so deep they looked terrible. The ogive was about 1/8" from the brass.

And, when it comes to these 2 popular bullets unless you have them on hand or your buddy has some they are not going to be easy to come by. At least that has been my experience.

But either of these bullets 180gr+ and you should be good to go.