Vortex tracking issue out of the Box

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by brianwy77, Oct 12, 2012.

  1. brianwy77

    brianwy77 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    I have a Vortex Viper 1x4 on a .300 AAC Blackout, it seems that the vertical adjustment is not even close. Has any one else had this issue, if so how can you test this without going through allot of ammo.
     
  2. Ridgerunner665

    Ridgerunner665 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    553
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    I believe thats supposed to be 1/2 MOA per click...whats it doing?
     

  3. brianwy77

    brianwy77 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    It is 1/2 MOA a click, when you make adjustments down it goes up. Then once you get it to move it more like 8 clicks to move an inch.
     
  4. 42769vette

    42769vette Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    383
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    if 8 clicks are moving it 1 inch what range are you shooting at? at 25 yards that would what it should be
     
  5. marinetowgunner

    marinetowgunner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    236
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Send it into Vortex. They will make it right. Sucks, but it happens.
     
  6. davewilson

    davewilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    when you say not even close, what is that? how much? the way you test it without using any ammo is clamp it down so it can't move and turn the turrets while the hair is on a yardstick or predetermined marks at 100 yards. this will show you how much it moves.