Vortex tracking problem

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by Bigcat_hunter, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. Bigcat_hunter

    Bigcat_hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    426
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Ok I bought a Vortex PST viper 6-24 for a new build. The scope won't hold zero after you use the elevation turret. Zero is always at a different spot after turret back down. usually low. Like 3" to 5" low.

    I sent it it for repair and got it back to have it do the same. I talked to a tech guy at vortex and he thought my rings were to tight causing problems. I replaced the rings with night force and torqued it to there specs and re zeroed it. It shot consistently from 500 yards to 100 yards thought I was set.

    Then today at the range, I checked zero first and it was good. I shot 700 then 1000 then back down to zero and it is 3" low at 100. Then I turret up to 700 & 1000and it is consistently low. Again.

    Keep in mind this is shoot 3 shots and let cool, every time. I put the leupold on it to rule out a gun issue. It shot perfect with the Leupold. I am at a loss of what to do. Even if they repair the scope whats to say it won't happen again? I don't think I can trust this scope so I am stuck with a $1000.00 dollar scope I can't use.

    I have shot 250 rounds through this 300 RUM so far. I would really like to not shoot out the damn barrel trying to get the scope issue resolved. What would you do?
     
  2. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,815
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Did you check your ring alignment and are your rings well away from the turrets?
     

  3. Bigcat_hunter

    Bigcat_hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    426
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Rings are lapped and are a good distance from the turrets.
     
  4. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,815
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    What torque?
     
  5. Bigcat_hunter

    Bigcat_hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    426
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    The top screws are torqued to 17 inch pounds. Bottom are 25 I think.
     
  6. yobuck

    yobuck Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    We had an issue with my sons scope (same as yours) when we mounted it and
    attempted to zero it. In that case the windage wouldnt work at all. The rep said
    loosen the screws and see if it works and it did. He then said torque the ring screws
    to 15 inch pounds max. The scope seems to function properly. He hasent shot it as much as you however. It is mounted on a 338x378 with over 100 rounds thru it.
     
  7. gebhardt02

    gebhardt02 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    476
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    I would send it back in explaining that the problem hasn't been resolved after the scope was repaired. I'd then ask for a replacement optic. If that scope also failed to track as it should and return to zero, I'd contact Vortex and ask for a money refund. After that, pick up an alternate scope of a different brand or different model Vortex if you were so inclined. Good luck with your situation, I've been there as well with a Razor.

    Geb