Trying to work on a load for a browning abolt 300 rum? Questions! Lots!

huntxtrm

Here is the stuff I'm working with. Browning a bolt 300 rum. Factory rifle, except for a Timney spring and a muzzle brake.

Magazine length is 3.634 +/-
To the lands of the rifling is 4.092. Almost 1/2" of freebore, if I keep them in the mag. I am loading berger 215 hybrids, for long range hunting. With retumbo, and cci magnum rifle primers. Looking at starting with 81 grains and moving up? Should I just stick with 3.6 in col, and just play with the powder charge to get accuracy? That's about all I can do, as far as I know. And please forgive my ignorance, I'm new to reloading. I am taking it one step at a time, safe and slow. I would like to get the most accuracy possible out of this rifle, as is for now. Using the mag. Oh, and full length size, or neck size? I've read the latter is better, in the hornady book. I would appreciate any knowledge, anyone could provide. Thanks in advance.

In my Tannel built 700 using Nosler brass my base to ogive is 2.971" and touches the lands. Base to tip using Berger 210 OTM bullets that I tipped is 3.616" exactly. I have about 0.065" left in the magazine. I wanted the tips of the bullets to almost touch so during recoil they wouldn't build up enough momentum to drive the bullets into the case.

I'm using PressureTrace and found my starting load of 89gr Retumbo gave me 3075fps ave at 53kpsi, 90gr. 3120fps at 56kpsi and 92 averaged 3150fps for three rounds at 58,500psi. I am looking at the primers right now and cannot tell the difference between the 80 and 92 grain loads. These are Fed 215m Match.

Note: my barrel is 29 5/8" from the face of the receiver to the muzzle crown so you'll have to subtract ~25-30fps for your barrel.