Reloading 300 Win Mag

EE_Reloader

Hello everyone. I have been reloading for about 3 years now and recently found myself wanting to reload for 300 Win Mag. I have never reloaded a magnum caliber before so I set about learning as much as possible about the process. In doing so I stumbled across the "belt bulge" phenomenon. I must admit that this information has made me somewhat nervous to start this process. So I wanted to ask more experienced reloaders about their experiences. Is the "belt bulge" as big of a deal as I have read or will bumping the case .001-.002" using a FL Redding S die prevent this from happening? Has anyone ran into this problem and made your brass unusable? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

I've not had any problems with belted magnums. Some chambers can be a little long base to shoulder and trying to bump the shoulder.001-.002 may cause some of the reported problems. But there is a remedy.

I've never ran into it reloading 7 mag, 300wm, 375 H&H, and several weatherby cases. Not saying it doesn't exist and I'm sure I'll see it someday, but I've never had an issue with the area just above the belt while using standard FL dies to bump the shoulder.

Graf and Sons sells the Peterson 300 WM Long brass, this will cure that problem before you run into it. Go to Peterson's website and Ben Peterson explains all you need to know about this version and remember they manufacture both long and standard versions and both are available on Graf's website. I have the long version from them and it is great brass. With that being said, I have reloaded 7 MM and 300 WM for years and have never had any issues with either one. Watch your pressure signs and do not overwork the brass and you should be fine.

The belted magnum case was designed to headspace off the belt. This was done because the original cartridge was the 375 H&H Magnum. It had very little shoulder to work with.