Prairie Dog Cartridge

Jud96

I have an opportunity to go prairie dog hunting with a buddy next year in Montana. I currently don't have a suitable rifle for high volume blasting, so I would plan to build a rifle for the job. I am wanting to build something based around the .223 simply because of the affordability of 1000 pieces of once fired processed Lake City brass. I have never gone prairie dog hunting or high volume varmint hunting, so I want to make sure I bring plenty of ammo and I don't care if I burn up a barrel in one trip as long as I have a good time! I have been debating on 3 potential cartridges, 20 Practical, 223 Remington, and 6x45 (6mm-223) with 55-65gr bullets. Ballistically the 20 with 39/40gr bullets and the 223 with 50-55gr bullets are very similar and I don't see an advantage to either option, however I have no real world experience with either cartridge for varminting. Running the numbers, the 6x45 isn't as flat shooting and drifts a little more in the wind, but I have access to old 6mm benchrest barrels so that is attractive but not a huge selling point. Any input or opinions on these cartridges for prairie dogs would be appreciated. Thank you!

Why not just use a .223 than! My favorites are .204, .22-250, and nothing beats a nice 17HMR suppressed for the close ones(<250). Although I have used about all my calibers from my 300WM and 338Lapua down to the 22 Hornet and 22 magnum and a crapload of them in between! Highly recommend the 204 or a 17 rem flavor for sod puppies.

I went PD hunting in South Dakota last year. Took my 223 trainer PRS rifle. Per SD buddies advice, loaded up 75ELDMs to buck the wind. Worked great. It was very windy and I was happy I took the heavier 223 projectiles.

I have used the - .20P, .204R, .223R for volume rodent shooting.