nikon scopes and scopes general

tool91

I'm new to hunting and want to see what y'all think about nikon scopes since my friend tells me they're excellent. Any advice or useful information on scopes I should know?

It depends on what you want kind of shooting or hunting you want to do. So many options (power, reticle , size of tube, etc). What caliber of rifle? I personaly like Leupold or Night Forse. Don't know much about Nikon.

I agree with Wy., so many variables go into picking the right scope for your rifle. I know we have something that will work for you just need a little more information.
Bart
Nikon Pro Staff

For deer my choice would be the 30-30. Because it is limited balistically to about 300yds, I would opt for a 3-9 or 3.5-10 power. Nikon makes the Nikon Buckmaster in a 4.5-14 which is a very nice scope. I've owned one for about 3 years. It has been a rugged dependable scope. I also owned a Buckmaster 6-18x w/ target dot, but that was for my long range rifle. You may want to look at Vortex scopes too. I own one and have been dually impressed. You get my vote for Nikon or Vortex.

Tank

How about a .308? Not a lot of recoil, reasonably priced ammo, will be great for Texas sized deer or any other 4 legged critters we have wondering around in Tx. except maybe Nilgi on the King Ranch.
A 3-9 would give you plenty of magnification and Nikon's BDC scopes will give you the capability after some range time to reach out there as far as you are comfortable shooting.

I found the Buckmaster and a Vortex viper pst. I guess the Buckmaster really is the best choice, or would the viper be practical as well?

If you can afford the PST, then that is the way to go. But it might be a little much for the 30-30. The suggestion of the .308 is sound advice. Other options would be 243, 260, 7mm-08. These all would be low recoiling and offer great diversity in your ability to grow and learn with a weapons system.

My thinking for a Vortex was something in this line: